Web Development journey of a Techworm

~2008 For me, programming was occasionally writing “Hello World” program in turbo c++, on a friend's computer. That's all. And beyond that, I really couldn’t care about anything. I was happy. The Techworm 🐛inside me was happy and satisfied. Often we used to chat about three topics: printf(), scanf(), #include stdio.h. We were in sync like good friends. I’ve always loved coding, I💓coding. But, despite being a lover of coding, I could never take it up as a profession. After a few years, to suppress my cravings for coding I started building websites using website builders. What else… Life went on like life. I went on like me!

~Oct 2017 I attempted to build an antivirus program alone from scratch for a client and miserably failed😭😭😭. But I successfully configured SugarCRM (community edition) for the same client. My Techworm & I were somewhat happy and satisfied. Life went on like life. I went on like me!

~Nov ‘2020 Suddenly I watched a Python course for beginners on freeCodeCamp’s youtube channel. I Took notes. Everything worked absolutely fine in Pycharm & Google Colab. I was happy😃. My Techworm was happy and satisfied. Life went on like life. I went on like me!

python notes.jpeg

~Sep '2021 Another friend casually mentioned terms like Frontend, Backend, Full-stack web development etc. during a telephonic chat. And as you can guess, I spent the next few days researching these terms online and my head exploded 🤯. First, my Techworm & I became extremely happy with the result of my research, then extremely sad and after that extremely angry & perplexed. Slowly after a while, I regained my composure and life went on like life and I went on like me! But this time something has changed. Unlike me my Techworm didn’t settle down and suddenly became a starving Techworm. (As if it hasn't eaten anything since birth, yet still alive due to mysterious reasons.) It has just discovered the unlimited, free supply of its favorite food… “technowledge” and that too with specific roadmaps... nom nom!

It became its own master and it started its own journey. I said to myself “ ignorance is bliss indeed!” And quickly wrote print('Hello, world!') in google colab once again. One thing led to another, I lost all controls over this hungry Techworm. The first thing it did was finish “Responsive Web Design Certification” from freeCodeCamp.org in a hurry. And in this way friends, Web Development journey of a Techworm started.

Ever since then, it has tried many different ways to eat “technowledge”. And it got exposed to things like knowledge overflow, weird behavior of CSS and nightmares attached to it, knowledge gaps, inability to center a div🤣 developer’s imposter syndrome, tutorial hell, watching tutorials to escape tutorial hell, burn outs and what not? for obvious reasons. It went crazy, and did not listen to anything I had to say…So after several failed attempts of re-establishing the good old synchronization between us, I decided to give up on it and let it act on its own. And effective from today I'll only silently observe its activities and document the same. Pretty weird! 🤔 I know... But this is my story guys. This is my truth and truth is stranger than fiction sometimes!

Current status of the Techworm:

Future Goals:

  • Update status and share learnings of the Techworm at regular intervals.

Thank you very much for reading my 1st blog post 🙏 Feel free to share your thoughts. I'll see you soon, have a great day🙂